Fun at work

“I ate his liver with fava beans and a nice decanti.  Slurp, slurp, slurp,” said my work colleague one Friday morning.

Turning away from the pasties I’d been packing, laughter choked out of me and tears were quick to follow as I ducked out of sight of any early morning shoppers that had braced the cold, wet autumn morning.

Perhaps it was the randomness of the sudden comment, or the slurping, but it was possibly the funniest thing I’d heard and seen in a long time, and as they say laughter is contagious and soon enough my other work colleagues joined in, although by this time it might have been due more to the tears streaming down my face.

Who says you can’t have fun at work?  Maybe not all the time, but I think occasionally it doesn’t hurt and it might just rub off on the customers too.

I do have a day job, as being an unpublished author doesn’t pay the bills.  It’s not going to change the world, but if I send a few customers home each day happy, then maybe I’ve achieved something.

The colleague who uttered the humourous Hannibal Lecture can be the funniest person at work but also, at times, the most irritating.  But that’s what you get  when you work in a team and when you work somewhere as long as I have, they do in a way become your second family.  You have fun, fall out, get stressed but muddle on all the same.

For a writer, it is an environment where you can observe and gain a great knowledge of how people tick, what their tells are and how they interact with others, and I just want to thank my work colleagues for the fun and frolics we sometimes enjoy, which make the dull slog of work pass more easier.

Photo by Dan Cook on Unsplash

2 Comments

Leave a comment